Life Lessons from Thoreau & Warhol

e5763be8b6f8eb8ac46ebf94cbbbdfa1

This quote has inspired me for a number of years now. I can’t say it has inspired me to the point of great actions which have drastically changed my life, but I am always hoping to muster the courage and strength to live a life I want.

In a little over a month I turn 30 years old and I can’t help thinking I’ve been putting off actually living for the last decade. Andy Warhol put it:

“Before I was shot, I always thought that I was more half-there than all-there—I always suspected that I was watching TV instead of living life…Right when I was being shot and ever since, I knew that I was watching television. The channels switch, but it’s all television.”

This is another quote that has resonated with me for the last few years. I’ve felt very half-here, half-living. Helping other people live their best lives while not thinking about my own and the consequences of it.

So, what direction are my dreams? Could they be west? Maybe I need to figure out what those dreams actually are. I don’t know, but like Thoreau, I want to “live deep and suck out all the marrow of life”, turn off this TV and start to live this life in full-body, not just half. I just wish I knew the first step.

Leave a Reply

