Coming to Terms with Personal Style & the Big 3-0

95062bf9337d21a0960b30974e09a9d3Yesterday, a friend told me she has admired my style for years. To say the least, I was shocked. I’ve always felt like I’ve had such a hard time putting things together or knowing what looks good on me. I’ve felt awkward or out of place at times, but I think I’ve finally found what I feel good in and looks good. A few of my staples are: ballerina flats, skinny pants, V-neck t-shirts, cardigans, and pendants. I also toss in the odd scarf and over-sized brooch. You could call it my uniform. My colour palette is pretty neutral. I wear a lot of greys, blacks, navy blues, etc.

I work in a super casual office in a job that has me attending meeting at the Legislative building with government officials or crawling around on the floors of flop houses with low-income tenants. I usually have to think ahead and dress for the day, which can be difficult at times. I often show up wearing leggings one day, a blazer the next. Talk about a split wardrobe.

I turn 30 at the end of the month and I’ve been thinking a lot about the contents of my closet. I still have those pieces I love from over a decade ago- my ripped Misfits shirt, Fort Garry Gun Club tee with holes in the armpits, the one with the bear drinking a beer. These are some of my favourites, but it could be time to retire these pieces to weekends only or retire them all together.

In my 30th year, I’m going to work on cultivating my personal style, refining the uniform, if you will. It’s simple, classic, and with a few changes or additions here and there, I think I can take it to the next level. Who knows maybe it will even boost self-esteem or my career!

Just for fun, I’m putting together a Pinterest Style Board for inspiration. Take a look and give me a follow if you like!

What’s your uniform?

Leave a Reply

