I’m coming down with an awful case of Wanderlust

85a388c8bbb78c58f779df5633ab85b8

Over the last five years, I’ve come down with a terrible sickness of sorts. It makes me itchy, it makes me doze off in thought, and it makes me long for change. This sickness is called Wanderlust.

“Wanderlust is a strong desire for or impulse to wander or travel and explore the world”

It’s virtually incurable. However, wanderlust can lay dormant for several months at a time, only to recur suddenly and without warning.What causes wanderlust? A personality that longs for adventure, a curious mind that is never satisfied, feelings of being tied to your life, job, possessions, and so many more causes.

It seems as though my wanderlust retreated after I came home from San Francisco about three and a half months ago. But, it is slowly coming to the surface. Making me itch. Making me look up flight prices. Making me think of where I haven’t yet been and all the beautiful things I haven’t yet seen. It has popped up at a less than ideal time for me in my life- saving money, working and mentoring, etc.

I met someone recently who has been almost everywhere in the world. Some places more than once. It was amazing to think about being in his place. Not worrying about life or money getting in the way.As much as I would love that, I think the places I’ve been really mean something special to me. It’s been a struggle to put myself into a position where I can travel as much as I do. I wish I had started sooner in life, but you learn many things about yourself in your early 20’s. One of the things I learned was that you can’t let anyone hold you back from what you want to do.

I’ve said to myself before while flying or driving somewhere, I feel like my true self when I’m on my own solo adventure. I can the me that I want to be… or I can be anyone I want to be, should I choose that road.

It almost doesn’t matter where I go. I just NEED to go.

2 thoughts on “I’m coming down with an awful case of Wanderlust

  1. Wow your thoughts really caught my attention.. Very well said, I can totally understand what you mean by that! Stay safe and go your own way, don’t let someone hold you back. I’m sure you won’t regret anything while following your heart. Stay safe and have a nice day! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

